New Feature: User Groups

29 Jul

We’ve just released User Groups, a major enhancement to how our business customers can manage user accounts.

User groups make it easier to manage workspace membership and page/folder-level permissions. Each user can be added to multiple groups on your network. Like a regular user, you can add the entire group to a workspace, and grant specific permissions to each group:

Adding a User Group

When you add a group, each person in that group will be automatically added as well.  When you add a new user to a group, that user gets access to everything to which the group has been given access.  When you remove a user from a group, they lose access, unless they have otherwise been granted access.

User groups are especially useful if you need to grant fine-grained access to a specific group of people, such as the members of a department within your organization, or a client team.

Only a Network Administrator can create user groups, so if you need a new user group on your network, contact one of your Network Administrators.

If you’re a Network Administrator, check out the Group Management page in the user manual for instructions on how to create, rename, delete, and manage your user groups.

As your organization’s use of PBworks continues to grow, user groups can help you manage the increasing number of users.  For more details on user groups, visit the User Groups page in our user manual.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: