Introducing Move Between Workspaces

6 Dec

One of the great strengths of PBworks is that it’s easy to get started.  Just create a wiki page, upload a file, or email a workspace, and you’re off and running.  This openness helps encourage participation, and lets your team build on each others’ efforts.

But this openness has its downsides.  It’s hard to determine an exact structure in advance, because in many cases, you’re on uncharted ground.  This is the first time that much of this information has been organized anywhere other than on private hard drives or email inboxes.  It’s also the case that as your team grows, you may find the need to reorganize.

While PBworks made it easy to move wiki pages, files, and even entire folders around within individual workspaces, moving content between workspaces was a pain.  You had to manually cut-and-paste wiki pages, or download and re-upload files, and even then, this tedious manual process didn’t carry over key information like comments or revision history.

That’s why we’re delighted to announce that we’ve added “Move Between Workspaces.”  Now you can move a wiki page, file, or folder, between workspaces in your PBworks network, and the moved item will retain all the relevant information, including comments, revision history, and tags.  We’ll even remember which users had starred a particular item, and move that association as well!

The only things that aren’t moved are custom security settings (because the user rosters often differ between workspaces, it wouldn’t make any sense to carry these settings over) and changelist items (because if you edited a wiki page X before you moved it from Workspace Y to Workspace Z, that changelist item ought to appear on Workspace Y where it actually occurred).

If you’ve been holding off on reorganizing your network, now’s the perfect time to get started.

Move Between Workspaces is available on all network editions (Business Edition, Legal Edition, Agency Hub, and New Business Hub), immediately, and at no charge.  For more details, visit our user manual.

2 Responses to “Introducing Move Between Workspaces”

  1. Katrin February 24, 2015 at 6:21 pm #

    Very nice article, totally what I was looking for.

  2. CurtisHazy April 6, 2017 at 6:08 am #

    ggptazs

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: